Get your knit on!

I recently started knitting, and think I have become a little addicted.   In the six weeks since learning how to knit, I have completed two Snoods, one scarf and a baby hat.  And I’m currently half way through my first yarn bombing project!

I don’t know why it has taken me so long to get into knitting, it is always something that has appealed to me and I love knitted products.  One of the main benefits of knitting over a lot of the other crafts that I enjoy (but don’t spend enough time doing!) is that knitting is very portable,  which is great for someone who is always on the go! And as you don’t always have to give knitting your full attention, it is something that can been done while chatting to friends or watching TV ….although it does makes it harder to follow the excellent Deutschland 83  if  I’m too busy looking at my stitches instead of the subtitles!

An organisation call Knit Aid  must be given a lot of the credit for kick starting my knitting bug (a big thanks to Kathryn Hay for introducing me to them!)    This social enterprise was set up as a response to the refugee crisis in Europe.   Jumping at the chance to learn a new skill while supporting a good cause I signed up for one of their workshops in December.   At the event held at Pennethorne’s Cafe, Somerset House, we were shown how to knit and given two large balls of Crazy Sexy Wool (Wool & The Gang), a pair of chunky 15mm Knitting Needles and everything we needed to make either two snoods or three beanie hats, that could be donated to refugees currently facing a cold winter on their road to safety.

There are more of these workshops coming up in London & Manchester, so check out the Knit Aid website for details.  And they have also just announced All You Knit is Love  a Mass Knit In at The Book Club in Shoreditch on Valentine’s day, to make blankets for refugee families and raise money to improve the lives of refugees across Europe.  I have booked my ticket and can’t wait!

The event is sponsored by Wool & The Gang,  who must also take a lot of the credit/blame for getting me hooked on knitting!  I have been aware of this brand for a number of years and have always been impressed by their style, concept and products.  But it wasn’t until I got my hands on a ball of their Crazy Sexy Wool, that I was a convert.   This super soft and chunky yarn is perfect for beginners.   It is so quick & easy to use, that you can make yourself a gorgeous hand knitted accessory in no time at all, which is very satisfying.   At £15.50 a ball it can seem quite expensive (which is probably why I resisted it’s charms for so long!), but when you consider that the balls are twice the size of some of the other brands available, and that with one ball you can produce a whole snood, hat or pair of mittens,  it’s not such bad value for money.  Although do look out for discounts and special offers on the Wool & The Gang website.  The website is also a great source of patterns (some available free to download), advice and how-to video tutorials.

I’m delighted to finally have welcomed knitting into my life and I look forward to many more knitting projects to come.

Leave a Reply

