What I did over the Summer

As it is now the middle of October, and all my winter clothes are now firmly out of storage,  It seems a little tardy to be talking about the Summer.   However, as it has been several months since my last post I thought I should fill in some of the gaps.

The design job I started at the end of March has kept me very busy, and although I knew it would be difficult to maintain this blog,  I had such good intentions of finding the time.

However, work hasn’t been the only thing demanding my attention this summer.  I have also been totally absorbed in house hunting.  It has been over seven years since I moved into my current flat and I had forgotten how all consuming the search for a new home can be.  Hours spent pouring over property details on Right Move and Zoopla, followed by endless calls and emails to estate agents and Saturdays spent viewing flats and houses.      And while this can be enjoyable in parts I have found whole process exhausting, frustrating and fairly stressful!   And I definitely didn’t notice any slow down in the post Brexit property market, particularly in the location (and budget) that we were looking in, demand still appeared to be out stripping supply.

But I’m very pleased to say that all our hard work has finally paid off and we have found somewhere (Hoorah!) and if all the paperwork goes smoothly (fingers crossed!!) we should be in by the end of the year.

Of course,  I have also been doing loads of research into the area that we will be moving to, looking into transport links and local services.  Hunting out the best cafes, bars and restaurants and trying to find out everything that I possibly can about our new neighbourhood.   So while I will be very sad to leave Highbury and the quirky, colourful flat that I love and have put a lot of work into….  I am looking forward to becoming part of a new community (just a couple of stops along the Victoria line) and I am quietly excited about having a blank canvas to start decorating again!….although we are not going to have any money to spend on the new place so I will have to be quite clever and creative!

Normal service will return to this blog shortly.  I’m planning a few area guides & exhibition reviews and hopefully I’ll also be able to do some home decorating features very soon.  But in the meantime here are a few pictures from our late summer holiday in Provence.   After the stresses and strains of the last few months we wanted a completely relaxing break.  We booked ourselves into a quite little AirBnB studio near Gordes and took the Eurostar directly to Avignon.    We had planned to sit around doing nothing except eat French cheese ….but of course we couldn’t help exploring the local the area.  If you would like details of any of the places we visited, just ask.

Pretty Pastel painted houses in Cucoron, Provence, France
Pastel painted houses in Cucoron, Provence
Splashworld in Provence, largest water park in France
Splashworld, Provence
img_5452
Umbrella Sky Project, Avignon

 

Leave a Reply

